Sombrero Island

Stoked in Sombrero Island

“It’s hard for me to put into words why I like the beach so much. Everything  about it is renewing for me, almost like therapy… Beach Therapy.” – Amy Dykens

Sombrero Island

Before, Visayas or Mindanao islands were the first to pop on my mind whenever I yearn for picture-perfect shores and sparkling waters.  I always thought that Luzon coasts were good for a quick beach getaway but not for unspoilt, secluded escapes.  Not until my trip to Burdeos and Sombrero Island proved me wrong.

Sombrero Island

Sombrero Island, as the name suggests is an island bearing the shape of a hat.  The island is part of Mabini, Batangas and is accessible via boat ride from the shores of Anilao.  It’s mainly made up of boulders of rock with a short strip of white sand and surrounded by clear and cold waters, making it a perfect post-climb destination for Mt. Gulugod Baboy hikers.

Sombrero Island

After our trying hike at Mt. Gulugod Baboy (well, at least for me), we went straight to Anilao coast and rented a boat that took us to Sombrero Island.  It was a 30-minute cruise along the Maricaban Straight.  The sight of the island’s white shoreline and waves crashing against the boulders was enough to refresh our parched bodies.

Sombrero Island

Finding a marvellous shore like this was an unexpected surprise for a beach-lover like me.  I looked around the island like a child looked at his first set of crayons.  It’s amazing to see a beach so near the metropolis yet still untouched by the downbeat of the city’s progression.  Sombrero Island is at par (maybe even better) with the top tourist destinations of the Philippines, it’s a wonder why it is not known to many.

Sombrero Island

The sun may have burned my skin, the waves may have hit me to the boulders of rocks but I don’t care.  There’s something in the water, the sand and the beach of Sombrero Island that spruced up my energy.

Leave a Reply

