Sunrise Enroute to Mt. Gulugod Baboy

Are there pigs in Mt. Gulugod Baboy?

Sunrise Enroute to Mt. Gulugod Baboy
Sunrise Enroute to Mt. Gulugod Baboy

It was en route to Mt. Gulugod Baboy where I saw the most beautiful sunrise sans the beach.  As the sun slowly peeked from the horizon, she turned everything her warm rays could reach into a honey-colored landscape.  Palm trees lined on the road, generously giving us the trail and the grassy hills looked like golden rice fields waiting to be harvested.  The setting was dreamy, if not romantic.  I would have sunk deep into the tiny recesses of that rose-colored world have I not seen my friends several feet ahead.  And so, I hurried back to the real world and hiked my first mountain…

Mt. Gulugod Baboy

Gulugod Baboy or “pig’s spine” describes three hill peaks in Southern Batangas.  Contrary to its name, there are no pigs to meet you in your hike, only carabaos, goat and cows.  It was so named because the contours of the hill depict that of the pig’s spine.  According to Wikipedia, it can be reached through several passages:  Anilao, Panay, Bagalangit, Ligaya, Laurel and Malimatoc.  As for us, we took the off-beaten path of Pulong Anahao and Estrella.

Mt. Gulugod Baboy

Related articles on the web suggest that Mt. Gulugod Baboy is a fairly easy hike but our tramp was far from easy. At the end of the cemented road, we had to climb the steep slope of the hill.  There was no trail and we only relied on the flinching memory of one my friend’s husband who happened to climb (and got lost on) that trail.

Mt. Gulugod Baboy

After about an hour of walking past tall grasses with sharp edges and greeting wild carabaos and cow, we finally reached the peak of the mountain.  It was nice to feel the cool wind while taking in the remarkable beauty of the vista from the top.  Mt. Gulugod Baboy bid an impressive view of Maricaban Straight and Sombrero Island.  After an hour of catching our breath-taking shots of any positions we could imagine, we started our descent to Anilao where a trigger boat to Sombrero Island.

7 thoughts on “Are there pigs in Mt. Gulugod Baboy?

  1. So this was your first mountain, same here ☺. We made a night trek at Mt. Gulugod Baboy. And you’re definitely correct, there is no trail on this mountain. I’m not sure if you noticed that freaky wooden house along the way. Imagine we climbed that mountain at night and only relied to my friend’s head lamp then you’ll see that abandoned wooden house (since I was a newbie that time, I don’t have gears, so what I only have was a small flashlight and the battery only lasted an hour wahahahaha!). Seriously, that house scares the hell out of me that I couldn’t even look at it. It was very cold up there. I couldn’t sleep because I left my jacket in the car. (No joke). I really enjoy reading your travel blogs. You’re awesome! ☺

    1. Im not sure about that “maybe haunted” kubo but it sure sounds creepy. Perhaps, we took a different route? Lucky you for staying there that nigh. I bet the sunrise up there was beautiful!
      LOL on the baterry.🙂

  2. BTW, yes there are pigs in Mt. Gulugod Baboy, at the foot of that mountain, there is a piggery. But of course, that is not the reason why it was named “Gulugod Baboy”.. hehehehe

Leave a Reply

