Siquijor: Stunned by the Mystique Island

Siquijor Island is known around Manila as the island full of potions, sorcerers, witches, and even aswangs.    Even the Spaniards of Juan Lopez de Legazpi’s epidition named the island as the Isla del Fuego or “Island of Fire” because of its eerie glow during the night.  But what is not known to many is that this island boasts of  beautiful shorelines and majestic places.

This is the reason why I immediately volunteered (despite my parents’ disapproval) to go to Siquijor as part of my work.  For me, the witches, if ever they really exist, will not harm you if you will not do anything to provoke them.  And besides, if I have been harmed by the withces, I’m in the very place where I can be cured.

So, together with my co-worker, I excitedly jumped to the fastcraft going to Siquijor.  We were in Dumaguete that week as part of our work.  As we were nearing the island, the waves got bigger but that didn’t ease my excitement.  Instead, it just made me feel like I’m being swayed in the cradle.

I was mesmerized by the view of its port in Larena, Siquijor.  Never have I seen a port as beautiful as Larena’s.  It has a very clear water, a rich biodiversity and fine white sand.

Image
Larena Port

From the moment I stepped out of the fastcraft, I knew that the port is just one of the many beautiful things  that I will see in the island.  We have to be back at Dumaguete at the end of the day so we immediately went on with our work.

Travelling the island, we have passed through several scenic places that Siquijor has to offer.  But because we have limited time, I only got to take these pictures.

Image
Someone’s backyard. It must be so nice to have this serene and beautiful place as your home.
Image
The part of Siquijor with rocky and not so white shoreline but still beautiful

 

In the northwestern part of the island, in the town of Lazi is St. Isidore the Farmer church.  The church made up of coral walls and hard wood have stood the test of time.  I didn’t get to enter the church though because it is closed.

Image
Lazi Church

At 5:00 that afternoon, we learned that we can’t make it to the last trip going back to Dumaguete, so we have to sleep in my co-worker’s ancestral house.  My officemate and his cousin who served as our driver gave me a little tour in Siquijor town before we went to their house.

First, we went to the church just across the port, Siquijor Church.  The church is dedicated to St. Francis de Asisi.  It was built in Feb 1, 1783 and is the oldest church in the island.

Image
Siquijor church behind the “Welcome to Siquijor” sign

To my request, we went to the port so I can have a closer look of the sand and its waters.  The clear waters reflected the rich color of the trees and the dark clouds above.

Image
A closer look of the port’s shoreline

Its shallow waters allowed me to see the urchins, starfishes and school of small fishes living in the area.

Image
Urchins and other Sea Creatures
Image
Starfish lying comfortably in the sea grasses

It was getting dark when we decided to go to my officemate’s home.  The next day, we caught the first trip going to Dumaguete which helped me snap this beautiful photo.

Image
A perfect goodbye photo in this beautiful island

I know I have not fully toured in Siquijor but I will definitely come here again to visit the caves and the falls. And by that time, I will frolick in the sun while lying in its fine sand, I will swim in its clear waters and I will bond with the urchins, star fish and the school of small fishes that I only got to see that visit.

Today, when I think of Siquijor I see the first and last pictures that I took of the island.  That’s when I can say that maybe, the island is really different.  The serenity and the beauty of the island itself is the magic and mystery that other people think of.

Leave a Reply

